Unpopular Bookish Opinions

     You are all going to hate me for this one.
     So, I’m a little behind on the popular books trends because I’ve spent a lot of time reading other books through the years, but I think I have collected a decent amount of unpopular opinions in my reading journey so far, and I’ll probably make a part two of this next year or some time.
     Here are my top unpopular bookish opinions, and I’m going to start with the one that is most unpopular:

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

     I’m sorry. I really loved the idea of this book, and I really wanted to like it, but I just couldn’t force myself into it. It really sounds like something I would be into, with this whole complex fantastical system and demon hunters and all that, but I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I hated the fact that I didn’t really enjoy City of Bones, and I want to read the rest of the series, but it’ll take a lot of personal strength and a shortened TBR to go buy the rest of the series. I couldn’t connect well with Clary, and in my opinion, it just didn’t flow right. I loved the plotline and everything about the book, but it was just the book itself that didn’t really do it for me. I think it was just with the time that I was reading it because I was also in school and I thinking trying to break a reading slump. I don’t know, I guess I’ll try again eventually, but I don’t know.

The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

     Yes, I’m attacking this one too. I love books from around the 1800s and England, but again, I just felt really disconnected. It was the same situation as City of Bones; I only read Clockwork Angel and I was just coming out of a reading slump while in school. Maybe if I had been more in the mood I would feel more confident about finishing this series. I loved all the other characters, but the main girl (her name is escaping me) just seemed pretty bland to me. The plot was also really cool, and it felt true to its time as set in the novel. I’ll probably give this series another try eventually, too.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

     Now this series is on here because I know this series gets a lot of hate from people in the book community, and I can see the arguments for the side that doesn’t like it, but I LOVED it. I read the series along with one of my friends in sophomore year and we would always talk about it our whole Yearbook period, so maybe that’s why I enjoyed it so much. When we saw the movie (the second one came out on my birthday), we fell in love with Minho; we ADORED him because we thought he was so cute and sweet. I also chose The Maze Runner for a journaling assignment in my pre-AP English class that year, and that was when I read it for the first time, so I had spent a lot of time analyzing the story and really getting into the political and analytical side of it, which probably helped. This series had quickly become one of my favorites and I was genuinely shocked when someone told me they didn’t like it for the first time.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

     I didn’t totally hate this one, I actually really liked it in the end. However, the first like half/three quarters of the book seemed really slow to me. There wasn’t really any action or much of anything until the story really unfolded in the last quarter. Because of the first part of this book, I don’t really see myself finishing the Grisha series until I finish some other series I’m really into. I did really like the mythological feel to the novel, though, and when the action did begin, it was really well written and realistic. The characters were also very believable and down to Earth while remaining true to their roles, and the twist with the Darkling at the end is what will probably drive me to finish this series.

Hush, Hush saga by Becca Fitzpatrick

     If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know my love for this series. The love primarily comes from nostalgia because this book made me fangirl for a novel for the first time (I had only read the last Harry Potter at that point). Patch was my true love and I read the books over and over just to “visit” him because he was sooo “dreamy.” I know a lot of people hate on this series because it’s kind of Twilight-eske in both the writing and characters, but this series got me into Twilight, and I still love them both. I feel like a lot of the love I have for it comes from all the nostalgia, and if I read them for the first time now I may not like them as much, but I’d like to think I would just because I like the whole fallen angel concept and Patch is still one of my fictional loves. (I made a playlist that went with his personality and listened to it every time I read the books, and when I wanted to daydream about him). My middle school self was so jealous of Nora, like I wanted to be her just so I could be with Patch and live in the world of the fallen angels.

     So there’s a few of my unpopular opinions, I’m sure I’ll be able to gather up a few more in the next year or so to create a part two because this was actually a little therapeutic to just rant, lol.
     Thanks for reading!
                          -Taylor

Leave a Reply

