Books and Series I’m Not Going to Finish

     There comes an inevitable point in a reader’s life where he or she will come across his or her first book that just cannot be finished. Sometimes it’s through lost of interest, but typically it’s just not a very good book in the eyes of the reader. I always try to finish a book or series that I start, but sometimes it’s just… impossible. If somr of these are your favorite books, I’m not saying they’re bad or anything, it’s just that they are not really my favorites. Here are some of the books and series that I remember that I started and most likely will not finish.

The Young World

     Ok, if there is ever any one book that has actually annoyed me, it’s this book. Not only did the author, who I am not putting down in any way because I’m sure he is a very nice person, make the narrator sound like a 13 year old in a cheesy 90s sitcom, he also breaks the fourth wall. This is the wall that is rarely suitable for a novel, excluding the classic case of A Series of Unfortunate Events in which it is done tastefully. In the introduction of one of the main characters, Donna, she clearly regards the “unreliable narrator” and the first words she uses to describe herself is “I am not beautiful.” What the heck? We are past the era where the whole “I’m not your typical girl” premise for a character is acceptable. Donna is what primarily annoyed me, but it really is a tie with the protaganist just because of the hip teenage lingo he uses. I know I’m a grandma in every sense of the word except for literal, but it was so weird trying to piece together what he said with what was going on. If you’re into the over-exaggerated middle grade stuff, this book might be perfect, but I juet couldn’t stand it.






Dreamland

     In my freshman year of high school, I had a HUGE Sarah Dessen kick. Her books were so perfect for feeding into my over-romanticized idea of high school love. I really did like most of the books, and I think The Truth About Forever was my favorite YA contemporary romance (which there isn’t much competition for that title because I don’t usually read that genre). However, I just really wasn’t feeling this book. The whole teenage duggie love interest really bugged me because, to me, drugs just aren’t cute. And I hate dreds. I hope I’m thinking of the right Sarah Dessen book, but I’m pretty sure it’s this one. This is probably a great book for a person who lives for teen romance novels, but I just really can’t get into these kinds of stories. I got little more than halfway through and gave up. I’m sorry if this is your favorite book, but I just really can’t do it.

The Giver

     I really wanted to get into this series, I have always heard people talking about it for so long and the concept seemed really interesting, but I just couldn’t get through the second book. The first one had my attention the whole time and the characters were great, but the second one, Gathering Blue, was just boring to me. It seemed really repetitive in the main character’s every day life to just keep going back and forth down a path and doing the same tasks all day every day. I just don’t think I could get through the second book to get to the third, though I really wish I could to see what the rest of the series is like. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the movie and that kind of ruined it for me. I don’t really see me ever trying to finish this series, but maybe one of you would really like it because I think it was just my preferences in a story that got in my way.
     

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

      I honestly don’t know why I stopped reading this book. I liked it from the beginning and felt like it was pretty action-packed, but I just put it on my shelf one day and never picked it up again. I had really been in the mood for vampires during October and this book was good for that since I had already reread Twilight to death. I would recommend it to skmeone looking for a more light-hearted thriller, I know that sounds weird, but I just wasn’t feeling it after a while, I guess. Unless I hear that the ending is super amazing, I probably won’t continue on with this one.

Beautiful Creatures

     This is such a beautiful book. The writing is magical (no pun intended) and really illuminates the atmosphere of the book. The beginning had been really slow, but halfway through, it really picked up and from there I couldn’t put it down. The plot was really interesting, unique, and quirky, but I just wasn’t as consumed in it as I am with other novels that I would read before finishing this series. I loved it, and like the next series I’m going to talk about, there may be a time in my life where I decide to find this series again, but I can’t see it happening right now. The romance was adorable with these two characters who really didn’t know how to be in a relationship, and the love they found was so just quirky and fun to follow. I would love to finish the series if I find the time because the books are huge, and I hope that day comes








A Series of Unfortunate Events

     I absolutely loved this series as a kid; I flew through this series and I would NOT put it down. I actually got yelled at for reading too much and not doing my chores when I was addicted to this series. But around like the eighth book, I lost interest and never picked it up again. As of right now, I would be interested in rereading my favorite one, when they go to the boarding school, but I really have no interest in finishing the series because there are so many other books I have been wanting to read. Although I do wish I had finished the series when I was a kid because I still have no idea how it ends and it still bugs me. Now don’t get me wrong, I still love the series, and feel free to hold this post against me if I do decide to finish the series, but I just don’t see it happening in the near future.








     Thank you so much for reading, and comment down below any books or series you will not be finishing!
                                                                       -Taylor

Leave a Reply

