Senior Year: Expectations vs. Reality (Bookish Version)

     Hello, everybody! As my senior year in high school is coming to an end, I figured it was only fitting to do a post on the expectations and realities of senior year, and add a little bit of a bookish twist to it. Tell me down below if you can relate to any of these and what you thought your senior year was or is going to be like.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Expectation: I’m going to have so much time to read because senior year is going to be my easiest school year yet, and I’m going to power through my tbr.

Reality:  I have been working on the same book I started reading for pleasure for over a month and half because I’m drowning in school work and college admissions stuff.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Expectation: AP Literature will be so cool, and the reading will be great. We’ll read Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and so many great classics.

Reality: Psych, it’s just essays. We’ll only read four books (The Awakening, Heart of Darkness, Hamlet, and Candide) and I only really liked the last two. And the passages and poems will be good, but you’ll be reading them so fast trying to analyze and answer questions on it that you won’t be able to appreciate any of it. You will also analyze the books so much that you’re sick of them and can quote them in your sleep.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Expectation: I think this year I will really come into myself as a writer and really develop my work to bring it to a whole new level.

Reality: I think I may have become a worse writer. All of the analytical work that I have done this year has made my writing more structural and collegiate, which is good for essays, but not so much for YA fiction.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Expectation: I’m going to set my Goodreads challenge at 50 books, but I’m going to read so many more than that.

Reality: I have a Goodreads challenge?

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

     Thanks for reading!
                                                                                                                   -Taylor

Leave a Reply

