Appreciation for A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

     I’m aware that most of you have most likely read or at least heard of this book, but I feel like this book deserves its own post beacuse of how amazing it was.

     For the past couple months I had been in a reading slump with no chance of coming out of it due to seemingly endless amounts of homework and obligations, but I have never been so shocked out of a slump as I was by A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Honestly, if any other could bring me out of a reading slump (besides my queen, J.K. Rowling, of course), it’s Sarah J. Maas. I have heard so many people rave over this book, and only recently have I been able to actually read it. I HATE THAT I TOOK SO LONG TO READ THIS BOOK.
     Sarah J. Maas has shown such incredible talent when it comes world construction and character development in the Throne of Glass series, but I feel that her writing, along with her characters, have greatly matured. Never have I seen such a beautiful creation of a world. Her use of mythical creatures in the story, without overexaggerating thair abilites, is almost scary realistic.Going along with the idea of a mature story, the main character, Feyre, while still a teenager, takes part in some more mature parts of the story, which is nice to see in a YA novel sometimes. Since her mother’s death, Feyre has had to fend for herself, her greedy sisters, and her spineless father. Also, her romance in the story is fairly mature in the sense that it shows love as being able to whole-heartedly give yourself for another.
      At the beginning of the story, I felt a little disheartened by the whiny connotation of Feyre, not that she had no reason to complain, since she was both mother and father to her sisters and her own father. However, as Feyre develops along with the storyline, she grows significantly and loses her more adolescent voice. I also was pleased by the fact that Feyre didn’t instantly fall in love with Tamlin, and it gave a little mystery to the actual turn of events. When Feyre and Tamlin do begin to confess their feelings, they’re relationship becomes adorable and completely romantic even through the curve balls thrown at them.
     As for the world that Maas built, I felt so immersed that at some points it felt as if the faerie world were real (which I really wish it were). I really liked the beautiful descriptions Maas gave of such an enchanting place, and the more vile depictions of Under the Mountain. The stark contrasts really gave depth to the world and the unexplored parts of the world left loads of curiosity for future novels in the series.
     I’m glad I could rave over this book, even if no one reads this, just so I can let out all my feelings since no one I know has read this book. I’m waiting until the sequel comes out in paperbook to buy it, and it’s truly killing me, slowly and painfully. If this series isn’t turned into a movie series, I don’t know what’s wrong with Hollywood. If any of you have read this book and/or the sequel, let me know what you thought! Is it better than Throne of Glass? Thanks for reading!
                                                                                                                  -Taylor

Leave a Reply

