Things I Wish I Had Known Before Becoming an Obsessive Reader

     Reading is a commitment. It is a lifestyle. It will probably be the death of me. Back when I was a small, naive little sixth grader, just starting out in the reading world, I had no idea what I was in for. Now that I’m six years older, and an inch taller, I’ve come across many things I wish someone had told me before I started this reading lifestyle.

     I didn’t choose the reader life… The reader life chose me.

1.  Pain. Indescribable pain. Mostly in the middle to upper back region. Always have proper back support when reading and don’t hunch over a book for hours on end without stretching because when you do come back up, you’re in for a whole new world of pain.

2.  Don’t get attached to the boy that shows up in the beginning of the book. He’ll most likely become the bad guy by the middle or end of the book and shatter your heart into so many pieces it turns into a puzzle. Save yourself. It’s too late for me.
3.  Don’t get too attached to any of the boys in the book because even if he miraculously ends up being a good guy, you’ll be stuck in depression for the rest of your life, rereading the same book trying to make him become real. He won’t. He’s made of words, not DNA. I am sorry.
4.  Fantasy/sci-fi books will ruin your mind entirely because 1) their stories are usually so awesome that you just absolutely love it and 2) you’ll probably want to live in whatever dystopia/other world and hate that you’re stuck in such a boring one.
5.  Reading even a mildly scary book past your bedtime is asking for trouble. That monster that you never knew about before reading this book is all of a sudden standing outside your bedroom. Keep the lights on. Turn on some music or the TV. The dark is dangerous. Be careful.
6.  Food comes before books. Books are expensive and you will want to buy all the books. Don’t buy all the books if it means emptying your bank account. You can’t read if you’re starving and going into survival mode.
7.  Read the book for school first. Don’t say you’ll read one more chapter of the one you already started and then start the school book because you won’t. It’ll be two in the morning, you’ll be finishing that fantastic story you’ve been dying to read, and you’ll forget all about the four scenes of Macbeth you needed to have done by tomorrow. 
8.  The movies will never be as good as the books so get over it. Don’t even try to compare them because they’re most likely two different story lines and the boy who’s supposed to be twelve ends up being eighteen and the scene where the mean girl gets drowned by toilette water that you really wanted to see won’t be there. In fact, the mean girl won’t even be there until all of a sudden she’s a problem in the second movie.
9.  It’s okay to pet and smell your books, just don’t do it often and never in public.
10.  Book merch is cool, but you don’t need all of it. A simple token to remember it by will suffice; the entire wardrobe of the main character is not necessary.
     I hope you enjoyed this list of things I wish I knew before reading. I love reading and books, this was just something fun I decided to do. I actually do everything on this list so…  I don’t have any book merch, though, except stuff I got to be Hermione for Halloween when I was little.    

           Insert Picture: 

     Comment down below some more things you wish you knew before you started reading😊 I’d love to see what you guys have to say!
                                                                                                          -Taylor
4 thoughts on “Things I Wish I Had Known Before Becoming an Obsessive Reader

Leave a Reply

