What To Take Away From Indelible by Dawn Metcalf

     Before, I decided that I would do reviews of books every now and then on my blog, but I think I have now decided that I will do a kind of “What I Learned From Reading…” because I haven’t really seen anyone do this. Also, this kind of review applied much better to my blog since it’ll be about the story and writing and what you can learn from reading this book that you can apply to your writing.

Title: Indelible
Author: Dawn Metcalf
Series: The Twixt
Publisher: Harleguin Teen (June 2013)
Genre: YA Fantasy/sci-fi
Source: Purchased
Pages: 384 (paperback)

Good Reads Synopsis
Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future…and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

“I am only an idea, a requirement breathed to life-an instrument. A tool.” 

– – – – –
     I originally bought this book back in 2013 and started to read it, but I only got a few chapters in before I stopped reading it. I thought the idea of the story was great but the execution wasn’t so great. Then, two years later, I picked it up again and it was a little better (probably because I had stopped at the end of the slow part) but I still wasn’t feeling it. However, I did FINALLY finish it and for that, I’m very proud of myself.
     The only thing I really did like were the characters. I feel like Joy was very believable and realistic with normal human needs, wants, and thoughts. The other main character was Ink, and I feel like he wasn’t very realistic until around the ending when he started coming out of his shell more and interacted more with Joy.
     The main things to take away from this novel is realism and complexity. 
     This book is about monsters and a whole world I never knew was a thing, or maybe she invented all the elements in this story, which props to her for being so in-depth, but it didn’t feel realistic. The monsters were so strange and out-there that it was hard to grasp what they looked like. They were described but I feel like they needed a little more detail for me to really pick up on what they looked like. Also, Ink and his sister, Inq, have very special jobs, but they don’t feel like they could be real. In Twilight, I felt that vampires could be real, in Harry Potter I knew that wizards were real, but what Ink and Inq are just doesn’t seem real to me because it was confusing and a little far-fetched, now don’t get me wrong, many, many great books are very far-fetched, but this was just not real to me.
     In general, following this story was just confusing for me, to be honest. Maybe it was just me but I feel like information was just thrown at me around every corner. There is so much information that is just scattered around the book that it’s hard to completely grasp it. It didn’t help that the story was pretty complex, so I feel like I don’t even know anything about this story. Also, what Ink and his sister Inq do for their jobs is confusing to me, which is scary because if they didn’t have their jobs, there wouldn’t be a story. In stories, there should be a scene where the main character learns about the weird things so the reader can learn about it, but I was kind of forced to put the pieces together myself throughout the book because the original scene created for understanding didn’t even scrape the surface. 
     To sum up everything, I would say that, from Indelible, I learned that realism, complexity, and organization are three extremely important elements in a book. If the story is too far-fetched with too much information that’s not in the right places, your readers will be confused and stop reading it. Also, good characters are very strong points because the only reason I continued this book was because of Joy and Ink and I wanted to see how they played out.
     I would recommend this book just because I think writers can learn from it,though maybe you’ll enjoy the story better than I did. 
                                                                                                                          -Taylor
Leave a Reply

